Malmö and Copenhagen: doing the double PART I

Straight across the Øresund from one another, the 8km gap between Malmö and Copenhagen was bridged a few years back with a, uhh, bridge.

Travelling between these coastal cities couldn’t be easier, a return train ticket costing €26. It can’t have taken much more than 30 or 40 minutes and there are great views over the water during the journey.

To sum up, I fell in love with both cities, cementing the fact that I think I may actually be a Scandinavian stuck in a stumpy, pale, ginger Brit’s body. That being said, it was 25+ degrees and hardly a single cloud in the sky; perfect conditions for city touring if you ask me.

I took a while to warm to Malmö, perhaps because I was fresh from an overnight train and not feeling very fresh. Besides, it was 7am and the city was still asleep. A cinnamon bun from a bakery in the Stortorget sorted me out, but I was pretty unprepared without a map, guide book or plan of action.

From the start, I’d say rent a bike (and get a map). The old town centre is pretty compact but the waterfront and views over the Øresund are a must-see, and a bit of a mission on foot.

Lilla Torg is the cutest of all the squares, St. Petri Kyrka is interesting architecturally, and Kungsparken along with its surrounding parks (Slottstrådgården in particular) is peaceful and well worth a visit.

I wouldn’t recommend Malmöhus unless it’s a rainy day and you can read Swedish, and heading South to Möllevångstorget past Triangeln isn’t all that exciting, though a market stall man did give me a free nectarine and cut of watermelon!

My highlight was sitting on the decking at Sundsprenaden in the shadow of the Turning Torso skyscraper (ish), overlooking the bridge and surrounded by half-naked tanners.

Malmö’s sights may not be sumptuous landmarks, but it far exceeds the meagre expectations of its title as ‘Sweden’s third city’. Locate a map, a bike, and a bakery and you’re good to go!

20130724-162748.jpg

Kungsparken.

20130724-162831.jpg

The interesting facade of Malmö’s Museum of Modern Art.

20130724-162846.jpg

Sunny views across the Øresund.

Leave a Reply

