Things I’d never have done in England, as told through photos

I walked out of my front door and climbed to the summit of a 1300m mountain in under 3 hours.

Cloudy view from the Gaisberg.

Cloudy view from the Gaisberg.

I saw an Austrian rock’n’roll 3-piece play a set of Elvis tracks in an Irish bar…

A local band play Elvis classics. It sounded better than you'd think.

A local band play Elvis classics. Not as bad as it sounds.

…then saw an indie/jazz/folk 5-piece from Denmark (Girls in Airports) play a set in a packed cave-like concert hall where I somehow managed to get a seat. Here‘s a video of part of their set. The whole evening cost me €3,70 (I bought a beer).

A powerful performance by Danish band Girls in Airports on the Saturday night of Salzburg's (free!) Jazz Festival.

A powerful performance by Danish band Girls in Airports on the Saturday night of Salzburg’s (free!) Jazz Festival.

I went to a zoo and this was the view.

Zoo with a view of the Untersberg.

Salzburg zoo with a view of the Untersberg.

I went to the opera (in Mozart’s home city, may I remind you). For free.

Opera and orchestra at Salzburg's Mozarteum.

Opera and orchestra at Salzburg’s Mozarteum.

I went to an ice hockey match along with a few thousand others. This was free too.

EC Red Bull Salzburg play some Czech team and lose.

EC Red Bull Salzburg play some Czech team and lose.

I looked out of my bedroom window and saw snow. In October.

Snowy mountain peaks and a view-ruining crane.

Snowy mountain peaks and a view-ruining crane.

Leave a Reply

