Zoë: Blog #1 – Hong Kong and Malaysia plans!

So I’m new to blogging, but I thought it might prove quite useful for documenting some of my time away. In a desperate bid not to waste my ‘year out’ (I refrain from using the term ‘Gap Year’ as I have no plans to fill the other side of the gap), I and a couple of friends have loosely made plans to travel for just under 5 weeks in Hong Kong and Malaysia.  

On the 18th November, I leave for Hong Kong to meet a friend who is spending some time with family there. After doing all the usual touristy stuff – and getting accustomed to my first time in Asia (let alone travelling!) – my friend Naomi and I are going to Clockenflap Music and Arts festival which is the largest festival of its kind in Hong Kong. I’m sure it’s going to be a real highlight before any of the real travelling has gotten underway!

We will then fly into Penang, Malaysia and meet another friend  Henry, who is currently in Australia. The aforementioned ‘loosely made’ nature of our plans is definitely appropriate for this part of the trip, as we are a little unsure of the where, whens and hows when in Malaysia! We have shortlisted Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Langkawi as our initial destinations and hope to elaborate on our plans a little closer to the time.

I think that has pretty much summed up everything for now, and I suppose the next blog will be ‘When In Hong Kong’ and hopefully when I have a better idea of our Malaysia itinerary!

CIMG6450

Leave a Reply

