Staying still #1

I can’t afford to travel right now, not at all. Unless we count the bike ride to Germany to buy cheap groceries or the six-odd flights of stairs up to my new apartment. Which, quite frankly, I don’t. So by definition, I’m gonna be a pretty damn awful travel blogger for a little while.

But I still love writing. And wasting money on the continent is, funnily enough, not my only skill. As far as other strings to my bow go, I graduated last Summer with a Literature degree (f load of use that’s been these last 8 months) and I also… Okay no, there are only two strings.

Where I’m going with this is, I’ve recently read some books I quite enjoyed, and now I’m going to tell you why. Anecdotally, as always. And maybe, if I get a view or two, I will make ‘staying still’ a permanent addition to my navigation bar. (Too late, already did it.) ‘Travelling’ and ‘staying still’ – get it? No? Okay, don’t worry. I’ll throw in some tasty photos to make this digression from wanderlusting mildly more entertaining anyhow.

Phwoar, Salzy, lookin' good.

Phwoar, Salzy, lookin’ good.

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson

Thoughts: I could well live to be 100 years old. With this in mind, I am not the following;

• sparing a single thought for my career. At all.
• stressing about learning another language just yet.
• saving money for  anything other than travel.
• growing up.

“…you’ll see that things will turn out like they do, because that is what usually happens – almost always, in fact.” 

The Rachel Papers – Martin Amis

Thoughts: I wish my host parents had warned me how incredibly erotic this novel was before I picked it from the bookshelf and took it on our ski week away. Needless to say, what followed was plenty of inappropriate questions and raised eyebrows, so much so that I began to hide the book inside my notebook when reading it.

Sex was like Disneyland to her: an allotment of organized wonders and legal mischief.” ‘Nuff said.

Stoner – John Williams

Thoughts: Written in 1965, Waterstones’ book of the year 2013 – makes no sense, ey?  A complex and closely-focussed character portrait that I raced through in a couple of days. Never did I think I could enjoy such a sad book so much!

“He was forty-two years old, and he could see nothing before him that he wished to enjoy and little behind him that he cared to remember.” 

The Jonasson sequel auf Deutsch.

The Jonasson sequel auf Deutsch. Good bloody luck to me.

Other opinions of late;

• Blue Jasmine was a wicked film, a well-deserved Oscar for Cate Blanchett. On a similar note, Salzburg’s Das Kino cinema is fabulous. I shall be going again very soon.

• I have watched the What Languages Sound like to Foreigners video a good 5-10 times. Language mindfudge, I love it!

• ‘Next life chapter’ resolution #1, concerning my diet and weight, is going well. Due to borderline poverty, I am currently living off a stable diet of Nespresso (enough to last another week, eek!), potato in various forms, and donations of all kinds. I feel like a student again, this is amazing. Hurry up payday!

One response to “Staying still #1

  1. The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – maybe I will finally buy it, after a few weeks of hesitating!

    Like

Leave a Reply

