Moving house – from the Altstadt to the even altere Altstadt

What with all the upsides to sub-letting, (no long-term commitment, no need to buy furniture etc.) packing up and relocating every few months is a bit of a chore.

Saying that, I love the opportunity to reassess everything in my possession, realise that that skirt I dragged to Austria has only been worn once in nine months, and those Converse are a bit threadbare, and hey! I forgot I owned that bag! The giant vintage Hungarian flag I bought in Amsterdam is, however, still very much an essential. As are the crockery and glassware stolen from various local establishments, but we won’t say anymore on that matter.

IMG_4801

A big thanks to my friend Meg who helped me move the contents of my room across the city by bike! Balancing, coordination, and cycling skills were all put to the ultimate test, no more so than when riding through the old town, each dragging a suitcase with one hand, the other on the handlebars, over cobbles. In the dark.

Anyone else a huge fan of the daily commute? Or just me?

Anyone else a huge fan of the daily commute? Or just me?

So I’ve moved from the Linzer Gasse side of the city to the Festung side, only 200m from the cathedral. The location within the city is pretty damn perfect, though the cycle to work is now a little longer and the cathedral bells chime every 15 minutes all.bloody.night. Plus the majority of traffic passing my first-floor window is horses dragging carts of bored tourists. But hey ho!

I live with a couple of German students in a beautiful flat, a little bit pricier but totally worth it, and I’m here until the end of September.

And please don’t ask me what I’m doing after that!

 

One response to “Moving house – from the Altstadt to the even altere Altstadt

Leave a Reply

