A quick word on music: Sziget and Invictus Games

BeFunky_Foos.jpg

That’s me, bottom left-centre, at my first ever Foo Fighters concert in 2006. Screenshotted from the DVD coverage of the gig (proudest moment).

I apologise for still banging on about this Sziget lark (meh, I’m not that sorry), but I realised that I’d gone into detail about pretty much everything but the music in my previous post! On top of that, my next trip away is to see my favourite band in the whole world ever forever, so a music post is more than apt.

Here are my bests and worsts of Sziget 2014, displayed in some sort of organised fashion, with a sum-up sentence for each;

3 surprises (given that I’m a bit of a rock fan!):
– Macklemore (played their biggest hit all the way through twice, not many artists can get away with this!)
– Calvin Harris (party tune after party tune + pyro)
– Lily Allen (fun, Summer, beer, dancing without shame, plus some rather out-there visuals)

3 new discoveries, or, ‘I’m gonna listen to some more of their stuff…’:
– Fink (close eyes, sway, feeeel)
– Miles Kane (mod revolution and unofficial meet-up of moshing Brits)
– Band of Skulls (White Stripes sound, British roots, kick-ass female bassist)

3 old favourites, who lived up to expectations:
– Manic Street Preachers (festival classics and drunken antics)
– Madness (feel-good ska sing and dance)
– Bombay Bicycle Club (Summer tunes evoke British festival feel, but with sun. And dignity intact.)

3 less-than-impressed-ies:
– Kelis (no one likes a diva or a late-arriver)
– Outkast (Andre 3000 either drunk, drugged, bored or asleep)
– Crystal Fighters (not their fault – the whole of the festival piling into one tent meant that we were squashed at the back, where the sound was awful and the visuals were…a lot of tall people around you. I’d see them again, under different circumstances.)

Was anyone else at Sziget? How do you agree/disagree with my list?

And my #1 band forever and always, who I’m travelling back to the UK to see in just two weeks?

The mighty Foo Fighters!

I first saw them playing in Hyde Park on the hottest day of Summer 2006, at the impressionable young age of 13, in front of a 75,000-strong crowd and it was like nothing I’d ever known before. In the 5 years that followed, I saw them 7 more times at some of the country’s finest venues, sending an unthinkable amount of my pocket money into Dave Grohl’s bank account (you’re welcome man), and collecting quite an impressive amount of merchandise.

3 Foo-less years later and I’m excited beyond belief! Unfortunately it’s no tour, and they will probably only be playing a short set, but the event that’s bringing them all this way is the Closing Concert of the Invictus Games.

Now I’ve done a bit of research, and the Invictus Games is a sports tournament held at London’s 2012 Olympic Park for injured and wounded servicemen and women that will be held between the 10th and 14th of September. It’s backed by Jaguar Range Rover and the young Royals, particularly Harry, seem to be getting heavily involved. The Foo-headlining closing concert on the Sunday seems to have brought a ton of attention to the Games, and I’m interested to see how the core message of the event is put across during the concert.

Either way, my favourite band are playing, so they’ve got my attention!

Here’s a promotional video of the Games. Iconic Brits, sports, 19th Century poetry mmm heaven.

Leave a Reply

