New York City photo gallery, seven years late

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2008 was the year my teenage self truly discovered photography, spending my first ever pay cheque on a nicer camera and taking photos of everything I could, namely sunsets and my cat, Tilly. This coincided with the year my uncle took me to America for a three-state road trip starting and ending in New York City, where I filled my memory card with images of this continent I’d heard so much about but never before discovered. 16-year old Cherrie was yet to realise the importance of backing up photos, but I recently opened the time capsule of my old Flickr account and the memories of that fabulous trip abroad flooded back.

I know it’s not Europe, it’s the most amateurest of amateur photography, and it’s seven years old, but I’m sharing it anyway. And it would be great to have your feedback!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Familiar building from a certain well-known TV show…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Has New York City changed a whole lot since 2008? In what ways?

6 responses to “New York City photo gallery, seven years late

  1. You definitely need to revisit! NYC becomes a whole new city practically every year with all of the construction, trends and business that come and go. Time for New York: Part II and practice your new photo skills =)

    Like

    • I’d go back to visit in an instant – can’t believe it’s been seven years since I went to the States. Could this be the year…?

      I’ll leave the photography to you though Paige.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My feeling is, it doesn’t matter if the pics are old or if you think the photography could be better – there’s something rather lovely about looking at old photos from back when we weren’t doing it for blogs, weren’t editing them madly and just seeing how we saw different countries and cities at the time! I’m biased because I totally love NYC but I think these are great pics that really capture some of the smaller details that people don’t necessarily notice in a city 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words! You sum up my thoughts perfectly – it’s a glimpse at the past, and a city through my much younger eyes, rather than a portfolio of strong photography. But that makes it even more special. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

