#CultureTrav: Expat Life, and updates on my life as an expat

As you can likely tell, my blog has been all but abandoned of late. There are a fair few excuses for that, but none to really justify it. The truth is, in amidst changing flats and changing jobs, not to forget the related madness – I dread to count the hours spent on the Ring Bahn, moping around IKEA, and in council office waiting rooms – the time and money for travel has been, well, not there. And don’t give me all that you-don’t-need-money-to-travel crap, because I read a great article on that whole travel blogger pressure recently (I’m Sick of Travel Writers Who Insist That Anyone Can Afford to Travel) and that’s that.

I’ve also been gymming and running a lot recently. There’s another excuse. (I could have written about this I suppose, but that would mean crossing into lifestyle blogger territory, which would be very dangerous indeed. I don’t think my eat-chocolate-for-breakfast-steal-clothes-from-your-brother approach would do anyone any favours.)

Oh, something else; I’ve been rewriting and restyling a ton of my older posts, like this one about Hitler’s Eagle’s Nest, so that they’re super duper optimised, more readable, and a little more visual. So I haven’t really abandoned my blog.

Glueckskind graffiti

When I left Salzburg last year, my housemate gave me a snowglobe and a note saying “Don’t forget: You’re a Glückskind!” I subsequently balled my eyes out, but the word continues to be one of my favourites of the German language. Meaning “lucky child” or, more accurately, “to be born under a lucky star”, this piece of graffiti in Berlin’s Neukölln stopped me in my tracks and I just had to HAD to Instagram it. Naturally.

Anyway, I’m not here to blog about the past or the present. I’m here to blog about this Thursday and share the fabulous news that I will, once again, be co-hosting #CultureTrav! The last time I co-hosted, back in February, it was known as #CultureTravChat and we discussed Europe. This time:

Expat Life

Time: April 23 2015, 20.30 CET. Location: Twitter.

Having spent a year and a half living in both Germany and Austria, dealing with all manner of obstacles, from language to making friends, bureaucracy to struggling to feel “at home”, I have a ton to say on this topic, as I’m sure you all do too.

Here are the all-important questions:

Q1: Have you ever lived abroad? If so, where and for how long? If not, where would you like to live? Share a photo. #CultureTrav
Q2: What tips do you have for expats, in regards to adjusting to a new culture? #CultureTrav
Q3: How do you approach connecting with locals and/or making new friends? #CultureTrav
Q4: When you go back “home,” either after long-term travel or expat life, how has your view or perspective changed? #CultureTrav
Q5: Have you ever felt homesick? How did you turn that emotion into a positive? #CultureTrav
Q6: Do you feel living abroad is something everyone should do? Why or why not? #CultureTrav
BONUS: Tell us where you live! We’d like to compile a #CultureTrav map.

I’m honoured to be joining bloggers and tweeters Nicolette and Jessica, and we hope to see as many of you there as possible, sharing your tips, plans and memories with us, and connecting with this amazing and inspiring family of bloggers and travel fans!

As for getting a head start, follow @CKishazy, @Nicolette_O, and @JLipowski, and stick #CultureTrav in a tweet to say hello in advance!

4 responses to “#CultureTrav: Expat Life, and updates on my life as an expat

  1. Gluekskind? Ok, that’s pretty catchy, but how about ‘Nifty Nichte’? That does have a certain bounce to it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Looking forward to the Twitter chat today! I’m always intrigued by expat stories as my blog is focused on intercultural communication, including how to navigate different cultures. If you’d ever like to collaborate on a post, do let me know!

    Like

  3. Sorry I missed the Twitter chat, but glad I found your blog. I’ve been living in South Korea for 16 years and blogging about expat life for a couple of years. (I actually spent about 5 months in Innsbruck, Austria back in 1997). I’m always looking to connect with other bloggers who share similar interests. Drop by bosmosis.wordpress.com sometime if you have a minute. I’ll certainly be on the lookout for future Twitter chats. Cheers, and good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

